Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Celebrating West Texas Women

This week on the Music Crossroads of Texas Curtis presents the first show of two celebrating women musicians from west Texas. You will hear music from Angela Strehli, Jeannie C. Riley, Zoe Carter and many more.

  1. Cryin' Inside - The Heart Beats
  2. Only Once in Awhile - Hope Griffith
  3. I Wonder as I Wonder - Carolyn Hester
  4. I Really Think I'm Crying Cause I Love You  - Edna Lee
  5. Going to that City - Angela Strehli
  6. Come Back to Me - Ingrid Kaiter
  7. They Call it Stormy Monday - ChristiAna Perez
  8. Country Girl - Jeanie C Riley
  9. Lubbock Summer Night - Katherin McLamore
  10. I Just Drove By - Kimmie Rhodes
  11. Bexar County - Zoe Carter
  12. More - Ralna Enlgish
  13. Mood Indigo - Carla Helmbrecht
  14. Sunset - Mary Jane Brenner
  15. Night Town - Joni Janak with Carl Fontana

Curtis Peoples, Ph.D., is the Archivist for the Southwest Music Archive and oversees the Crossroads Recording Studio for the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library at Texas Tech University. He is a musician who has worked in the music business for four decades, numerous recording studios, and has been a production manager for many events. Dr. Peoples teaches regional music history classes and American media studies; his research centers on music and place.